Public Health
Research in environmental/occupational epidemiology requires an interdisciplinary approach.
Evidence is Essential to Public Health
- Provides access to more and higher-quality information on what works.
- Decisions based on best available peer-reviewed quantitative and qualitative research.
- Provides a higher likelihood of successful programs and policies being implemented.
- Engages community in assessment and decision-making.
- Leads to greater workforce productivity.
- Use data and information systems systematically.
- Increases accountability by supporting more efficient use of public and private resources.
- Disseminating what is learned to key stakeholders and decision makers.
Source: Brownson RC, Fielding JE, and Maylahn CM. Evidence-based public health: a fundamental concept for public health practice. Annu Rev Public Health 2009; 30:175-201.
Winnable Battles Resources
Winnable battles look at targeting major health challenges by using programs that have shown significant progress in preventing the leading causes of illness, injury, death, and disability.
- Colorado's Winnable BattlesColorado's 10 Winnable Battles are public health and environmental priorities that have known, effective solutions.
- Local Public Health Priority AreasLocate Colorado Winnable Battle priorities by county.
- Winnable Battles in the LiteratureResources for locating evidence-based research and health education information.
Policy
- American Public Health Association (APHA)APHA members develop policy statements on key public health topics, from obesity control to breastfeeding to control of infectious diseases to eliminating health disparities.
- Colorado Health Institute: Legislation and PolicyProvides evidence-based data and information to inform policy, advance health, promote collaboration and support better access to care for all Coloradans.
- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)Promote policy innovation and communication among state legislatures.
Health Status Resources
- Community Health Status Indicators (CHIS)Interactive web application that produces health profiles for all 3,143 counties in the United States. Each profile includes key indicators of health outcomes, which describe the population health status of a county and factors that have the potential to influence health outcomes, such as health care access and quality, health behaviors, social factors and the physical environment.
- County Health Rankings and RoadmapsFind out how healthy your county is and explore factors that drive your health.
- Haz-MapChoose a job, learn about its dangers. Grades 6-12+.
- State Health FactsInformation by state on demographics, economy, health costs, health coverage, health status, minority health, and more.
Funding and Financing
Public health finance looks at the acquisition, utilization, and management fo resources for public health functions. Funding comes from a variety of entities including:
- Federal funds - population-based formula programs, incidence/prevalence-based formulas, competitive grants
- State and local funds - variable
- County and city revenues - variable
- America's Health Rankings: Public Health Funding by StateState dollars dedicated to public health and federal dollars directed to states by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Health Resources and Services Administration.
- For the Public's Health: Investing in a Healthier Future (2012)Discusses financial challenges facing the governmental public health infrastructure. The book provides recommendations about what is needed for stable and sustainable funding, and for its optimal use by public health agencies.Free download.
- Investing in America's Health: A State by State Look at Public Health Funding and Key Health Facts 2016This report provides the public, policymakers and other groups involved in public health with an objective, nonpartisan, independent analysis of the status of public health funding policies.
- Public Health Economics and ToolsEvaluate the costs and burden of various health problems and the effectiveness and efficiency of health programs.
Rural Public Health
- Colorado Rural Health CenterRural health reports, publications, and geographic impact information.
- Data Sources & Tools Relevant to Rural HealthFind statistics and data related to rural health.
- National Rural Health AssociationInformation on current legislation, tools for advocacy, policy documents, and government affairs related to rural health.
- Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP): Policy and ResearchResponsible for analyzing the possible effects of policy on 62 million residents of rural communities.
- Rural Assistance Center (RAC)State-by-state breakdown of rural health resources.
Data Resources
- Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Data PortalColorado health and environmental data, statistics, maps.
- Community Health MapsInformation on low cost mapping tools for community-based organizations. Mapping apps/software reviews, best practices, and experience from those who have successfully implemented a mapping workflow as part of their work.
- HealthData.govProvides access to U.S. Health and Human Services data from a variety of organizations, as well as clinical care provider quality information, health service provider directories, consumer product data, and government spending data.
- Health Data and Profiles for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Public Health AgenciesThe Office for State, Tribal, Local and Territorial Support (OSTLTS) was formed to support and improve public health at all levels including system performance, capacity, agility, and resilience.
- Healthy People 2020 DataEvidence-based clinical interventions and resources. Information for health education.
There are other data resources that aren't specifically for health, but would be of interest in learning about a community.
- Explore Census Data(U.S. Census Bureau) - An interactive database that is searchable for data from multiple data sources
- MLA Language MapFor anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of their state and county. Last data from 2010.
- National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe health statistics resource for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), with survey and data collection systems information, access to data sets, and publications. The Center identifies health disparities, monitors trends in health status and healthcare delivery, and provides information for public policy changes and program development.
- Last Updated: Feb 23, 2024 6:58 AM
- URL: https://library-cuanschutz.libguides.com/publichealth
- Print Page