Skip to Main Content

Strauss Health Sciences Library

Public Health

Research in environmental/occupational epidemiology requires an interdisciplinary approach.

Government Agencies for Public Health

Government Agencies for Public Health

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. AHRQ   From the US Dept. of Health & Human Services, the  Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality is a national web-based resource featuring the latest news and essential resources to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry   ATSDR serves the public by taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
Canadian Best Practices Portal for Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention  The primary goals of the Canadian Best Practices Portal are to: develop and disseminate best practices information for chronic disease prevention and control interventions, provide decision makers with a comprehensive and standardized resource about best practices for chronic disease prevention and control, and to create awareness of the overall Canadian Best Practices System through communication and marketing activities targeted to key audiences (decision makers in practice, decision makers in policy development, decision makers in research).
Center for Mental Health Services  The National Mental Health Information Center's Center for Mental Health Services works with States to improve and increase the quality and range of treatment,  rehabilitation, and support services for people with mental health problems, their families, and communities.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  The U.S. premier public health agency, working to ensure healthy people in a healthy world. Their mission is "to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability."
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services  The CMS mission is to ensure effective, up-to-date health care coverage and to promote quality care for beneficiaries. Contains links to more information about Medicare coverage and programs, and Medicaid coverage in general. Also links to State Children's Health Insurance Program  SCHIP.
Food and Drug Administration  The FDA is responsible for protecting the safety of drugs, medical devices, the nation's food supply, biological products, cosmetics, etc. Also advances public health by speeding innovations to make food and drugs safer and more effective.
Food and Nutrition Information Center - FNIC  Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)  The Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free resource from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, AHRQ, providing full-text documents that support health care decision making.
Health.gov  A portal to the websites of a large number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services, including general health information, special initiatives, federal agencies and health news websites.
Healthy People 2030  Healthy People works on the two goals of helping individuals of all ages increase life expectancy and improving their quality of life, and working to eliminate health disparities among different segments of the population.
Medicare  The official United States government website for people with Medicare.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report  Data is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)  based upon weekly reports and information from state health departments.
National Cancer Institute  Coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs with respect to the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cancer.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)  Creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information.
National Governor’s Association Center for Best Practices  The NGA Center for Best Practices helps policy staff develop and implement innovative solutions to challenges facing their states.It provides
comprehensive information about best practices in emerging issues including: education, health, homeland security and technology, environment, energy, and workforce programs.
National Guideline Clearinghouse  A U.S. public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. A display tool allows side by side comparison of guidelines.
National Institute of Mental Health  NIMH is dedicated to research focused on the treatment, understanding and prevention of mental disorders and the promotion of mental health.
National Quality Measures Clearinghouse  A public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.
NLM Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs  National Library of Medicine's portal to databases, collaborative projects, outreach and training resources, and publications in health research and public health.
NREPP: National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices  NREPP is a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement
programs and practices in their communities.
Nursing Home Compare (Medicare)  Information relating to Medicaid and Medicare certified nursing homes throughout the United States. It includes information on payment and patient
rights, and a nursing home checklist to evaluate the nursing homes.
Public Health Information Network  PHIN strives to improve public health by enhancing research and practice through best practices related to efficient, effective, and interoperable public health information systems.
Reports of the Surgeon General. U.S. Public Health Service  Reports are designed to heighten America's awareness of important public health issues and generate major public health initiatives.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration (SAMHSA)  Building resilience and facilitating recovery for people with or at risk for mental or substance use disorders. SAMHSA gears all of its programs, policies and grants toward that outcome.

Travelers' Health from CDC  Provides information on vaccinations, recent outbreaks of disease, risks from food and water, injuries and illnesses, and preventive measures for travelers abroad.

  • Last Updated: Feb 23, 2024 6:58 AM
  • URL: https://library-cuanschutz.libguides.com/publichealth
  • Print Page
Subjects: Public Health