Public Health
Research in environmental/occupational epidemiology requires an interdisciplinary approach.
Policy and Legislation
-
ASTHO's State Health Policy Tracks and analyzes legislation across the states to identify trends and emerging issues.
-
Center for Public Health Law Research Promote effective regulatory, legal and policy solutions to improve public health
-
Center for Public Health Policy Advancing evidence-based policies and practices
Environmental and Occupational Health Resources
- Global Health (CABI) This link opens in a new windowDedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases.The database's open serials policy and coverage of international and grey literature means that 40% of material contained in Global Health is unique to the database.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in Google Scholar. If full-text is immediately available, look for PDF link on the right. If full-text is not immediately available, click "Full-Text at CU Anschutz" to search for article via the library catalog.
To learn more about using Google Scholar visit Google Scholar Search Tips.
Click "more..." to learn how to set up Anschutz specific link.Google Scholar now includes the print and online journal resources of the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus Strauss Health Sciences Library. When you run a search, look for one of the following two links associated with each hit result:
- "Full-Text @CU Anschutz": This link will appear immediately after the article title when Google determines that the library provides full text of the article.
- "Options @CU Anschutz ": This link will appear among other links below the citation when Google determines that the library does not have full text access. Click this link to request an item via Interlibrary Loan or to look for the item in our library catalog.
Please note: for Google Scholar to correctly display Strauss Health Sciences Library holdings, you must either:
- Be on the Health Sciences campus network OR
- Use the Google Scholar preferences setting to tell Google your Strauss Health Sciences affiliation.
To set up your Strauss Health Sciences affiliation:
- Within the Google Scholar settings, edit the "Library links"
- Search for "Colorado"
- Check the box for "University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus – Full-Text at CU Anschutz" & Save
More information and search tips from Google - GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowUse medical subject headings to target your searches:
1. ("Occupational Health"[Mesh]) AND "Marijuana Smoking"[Mesh]
2. "Lead Poisoning, Nervous System, Childhood"[Mesh] - SafetyLit This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm.
- Science.govAccess to over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites for access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Evaluating the Evidence
- GRADE: Assessing the quality of evidence in environmental and occupational healthThere is high demand in environmental health for adoption of a structured process that evaluates and integrates evidence while making decisions and recommendations transparent. The Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation (GRADE) framework holds promise to address this demand. For over a decade, GRADE has been applied successfully to areas of clinical medicine, public health, and health policy, but experience with GRADE in environmental and occupational health is just beginning. Environmental and occupational health questions focus on understanding whether an exposure is a potential health hazard or risk, assessing the exposure to understand the extent and magnitude of risk, and exploring interventions to mitigate exposure or risk.
Emergency Response Resources
- Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical ManagementCommunication resources for public health officials, mental health professionals, and responders during an emergency situation. (see "CHEMM for You" section)
- Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM) This link opens in a new windowRadiation emergency resources for public information officers, mental health professionals, planners and trainers. (See "Other Audiences" section)
- Wireless Information System for Emergency RespondersSystem designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. Provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression guidance.
- Last Updated: Feb 23, 2024 6:58 AM
- URL: https://library-cuanschutz.libguides.com/publichealth
- Print Page