LibGuides: Public Health: Image Resources

Image Resources

NOTE: Copyrighted images should be used only for limited educational purposes, such as your peer teaching presentation. Even when images are not copyrighted, the source of the image should be included in your slide.

Atlases of the Brain The atlases include brain and spinal cord images and MRIs of the brain. Content is freely available for non-profit use by health science educators. Interactive features allow the user to request an outline of structures or a quiz on the image content.
BioText Search:
- Full Text & Abstracts
- Figure Captions
- Images
- Tables
From 300 journals, 40,000 articles, 100,000 figures, and 60,000 tables found in articles archived in PubMed Central.
CELLS Alive! Cells Alive! provides basic cell biology, microbiology, and immunology videos, micrographs and diagrams. The images are available for use in lectures and handouts and for other nonprofit, educational use with some important exceptions. Using Materials from CELLS Alive!
DermAtlas: Dermatology Image Atlas Dermatlas is made available by Johns Hopkins University. There are currently over 4,900 images submitted by more than 180 contributors in the database. Users can search by categories, diagnoses, or body sites. Images are copyrighted by Dermatlas, but may be used freely for teaching purposes. Please review restrictions on use.
eMedicine World Medical Library Select "emedicine" under the search box. Search your topic, then look for the Multimedia link in the article. Not all topics include a Multimedia link.
Google Images Some images are for purchase and download.
Hardin MD Medical Pictures and Disease Pictures Free photos of medical conditions, diseases, and health conditions from the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences of the University of Iowa.
HEAL (Health Education Assets Library) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching resources of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners.
Health Communication Materials Network An international network of professionals specializing in the development and use of health communication materials - pamphlets, posters, video, radio, novelty items, flipcharts, cue cards, training materials, electronic media, etc. based from Johns Hopkins University.
HON Health on the Net Media Gallery This media gallery is put together by the Health on the Net Foundation, an international body that seeks to encourage ethical provision of online health information. The media gallery is indexed by body part and includes images of medical conditions and procedures.
Images from the History of Medicine Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this database contains nearly 60,000 images from the library's History of Medicine Division. The works digitized here include prints, lithographs, engravings, etchings, woodcarvings, and paintings.
Images from The National Institutes of Health Most of the images are not copyrighted, and just require attribution.
Internet Atlas of Histology The COM-UIUC Atlas of Histology contains over 1000, labeled, histological images with accompanying functional descriptions. Interactive features allow the user to change magnification and examine areas of interest in great detail. Some images include a mouse-over function: when the mouse pointer is over a labeled object, that object is highlighted, its name is pronounced, and its identity is given in a drop-down menu.
JayDoc HistoWeb JayDoc HistoWeb is an online histology atlas. The creators of HistoWeb allow use of the content for non-profit, educational purposes.
MedPix: Medical Image Database MedPix® is a fully web-enabled cross-platform database, integrating images and textual information.The primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, graduate nursing students and other post-graduate trainees. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption.Contributed content may be © copyrighted by the original author/contributor, and is used with their consent and permission.
Microsoft Clip Art and Media Includes images for specific occupations, including Healthcare.
NCI Visuals Online Contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education, National Cancer Institute.
Neuroanatomy: Draw it to Know it Through this website, users will be able to download narrated videos of the individual steps in the drawings found in this book.
Protist Image Data Protist Image Data is part of the Molecular Evolution and Organelle Genomics program at the University of Montreal. Contains pictures and information on selected genera of algae and protozoa.
Skinsight Provides high-quality, current health information on a variety of health topics for consumers.
The Alan E. Lindsay ECG Learning Center in Cyberspace The ECG Learning Center includes not only the expected ECGs but also diagrams useful in explaining ECG abnormalities. Use of ECG Learning Center images is governed by a Creative Commons Copyright which allows rather liberal non-profit use -- please review conditions of use.
The Digital Anatomist Project The interactive, anatomy atlases available at this site have been produced by the University of Washington, Seattle. Brain, neuroanatomy, thorcic viscera, and knee atlases are available. The software and images are available for non-commercial use with some restrictions.
The Visible Human Project A project of the National Library of Medicine, the Visible Human Project provides access to cross-sectional images of the human female and male. Sample images are available free of charge. Access to the complete sets of images requires a fee payment and completion of a license agreement.
Videos in Clinical Medicine This series from New England Journal of Medicine demonstrates common examination techniques and procedures as an adjunct to articles in the Journal.