- Strauss Health Sciences Library
- LibGuides
- Open Educational Resources (OER) at CU Anschutz
- Search Engines and Databases
Open Educational Resources (OER) at CU Anschutz
Share OER!
Found some cool health sciences OER? Let us know so we can share with others.
Email ellie.svoboda@cuanschutz.edu
Thank you!
Education Informationist
This work is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0
Good Starting Points
Please select a health sciences topic on the sidebar in order to find specifically curated OER.
The databases below are also good places to start if you're looking for more general OER. They've been arranged from most likely to contain health sciences materials to least likely to contain health sciences materials (but will still have great stuff!)
- IntechOpenOpen access books, many of which have specific and rigorous health-sciences content.
- MERLOTWith more than 100,000 learning materials, MERLOT is one of the most comprehensive collections.
- OasisA broad and comprehensive search tool for OER.
- BCcampusA library of open textbooks as well as information about creating OER.
- OER CommonsA broad search tool for OER that can be filtered by subject and level.
- LibreTextsA library of OER texts on a variety of subjects.
- OpenStaxAn OER publisher based out of Rice University, OpenStax has texts on many common undergraduate subjects.
- Open Textbook LibraryMore than 700 OER texts on a variety of subjects.
- CC SearchA portal that searches other sources for Creative Commons content.
*Please note that although most of the materials collected in these referatories/repositories are openly licensed, one must still check the copyright of each resource found.
Images
- CC SearchA portal that searches other sources for Creative Commons content.
- Cell Image LibraryUse the License filter in Advanced Search to limit to either public domain, CC-BY, or CC-BY-NC images.
- Disabled and HereCollection of CC-licensed stock images featuring disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color.
- The Gender Spectrum CollectionCollection of CC-licensed stock photos featuring trans and non-binary photos.
- Google ImagesIf you want to limit the images that you find to only those that you are allowed to reuse follow these steps:
1. Do an initial search on the Google Images homepage
2. On the results page click the "Search Tools" button to reveal more options
3.Select the license you want. - NIH BioArt SourcePublic Domain science and medical art visuals.
- OER CommonsTo search for only images, do an Advanced Search and choose the media format "Graphics/Photos". You can also choose the level of condition of use you want the images to have. Results will include websites, databases, and course materials that have images.
- Open-iAn open access biomedical image search engine, all photos are free use.
- Public Health Image LibraryThe Public Health Image Library (PHIL) is created by the CDC, and contains a variety of health science pictures, videos, and illustrations. Every picture will say beneath it if it is public domain or copyrighted.
- Wikimedia CommonsA repository of openly licensed multimedia or works in the public domain. Provides options for download or linking.
*Please note that although most of the materials collected in these referatories/repositories are openly licensed, one must still check the copyright of each resource found.
Additional Collections
Math and Science Related Resources:
Social Science Related Resources:
Humanities Related Resources:
Open Access Journals:
*Please note that although most of the materials collected in these referatories/repositories are openly licensed, one must still check the copyright of each resource found.