- Strauss Health Sciences Library
- LibGuides
- Pharmacy Resource Portal
- Library Resources
Pharmacy Resource Portal
Start here when you aren't sure what to use to find pharmacy and pharmacology articles and books
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Need to find an article that Strauss Health Sciences Library doesn't have access to? You can use ILLiad to request it.
Top Pharmacy Resources
Below is a short list of the top resources for pharmacy. For a listing of all library databases, see the complete A-Z databases list.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowAccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
- AHFS Drug Information (American Hospital Formulary Service) This link opens in a new windowThe mission of AHFS Drug Information® (AHFS DI®) is to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.
- USP-NF This link opens in a new windowTo access, create an account using your @cuanschutz.edu email. Then, go to USP-NF and login in the upper right corner of the site.
The USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. - AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new windowAccessAnesthesiology can help students excel in their clerkship; assist residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; allow practicing anesthesiologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification; and provide CRNAs with an important foundation in their career.
- ChemIDplus This link opens in a new windowChemIDplus contains over 400,000 chemical records. More than 300,000 of those records include chemical structures. ChemIDplus is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, and/or Physical properties.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey is a clinical resource from Elsevier that includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drugs, multimedia, instructional videos of medical of procedures and more. All of the information accessible via MD Consult and First Consult, plus more, is now available in ClinicalKey.
To learn more about using ClinicalKey visit the Resource Center. - Dietary Supplements Labels Database This link opens in a new window
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. Learn about the ingredients in over 2,000 supplement brands from this database developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
- Drug Information Portal (NLM) This link opens in a new windowThe NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
When accessing the Portal on a mobile device you will be redirected to the mobile site. - Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Indexes conference abstracts, papers, and summaries, which can be found using the Advanced Search function and specifying the publication type.
To learn more about using Embase visit Embase Video Tutorials and/or Elsevier's Embase FAQs. - Food Chemicals Codex (FCC) This link opens in a new windowTo access, create an account using your @cuanschutz.edu email. Then, go to FCC and login in the upper right corner of the site.
The Food Chemicals Codex is a compendium of internationally recognized standards for determining the purity and quality of food ingredients. - Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Online This link opens in a new window
Online contents of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Originally published in 1958, Harrison's has become a classic in the field of medicine. Harrison's outlines normal and abnormal physiology, while focusing on best practices of patient care.
Print copies of Harrison's are available at Library Service Desk
- LactMed This link opens in a new windowThe LactMed database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
- LexicompAccess to Lexicomp is limited to School of Pharmacy students. Please contact Doug Fish (DOUG.FISH@CUANSCHUTZ.EDU) for access instructions.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowThe world’s leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research. MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals).
To learn more about using Ovid databases visit Ovid Online Training. - Merck Index - Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs and Biologicals This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index has been regarded as an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Tools to identify medications, look up drug interactions and compatibilities, and make comparisons.
Micromedex® includes, CareNotes®, DRUGDEX®, DRUG-REAX®, IDENTIDEX®, IV INDEX®, Index Nominum, Martindale, NeoFax®, PDR®, POISINDEX®, REPRORISK®, USP DI®, DISEASEDEX®, TOMES®, Lab Advisor®, and Alternative Medicine databases.
NOTE: NeoFax® works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge - NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
NatMed Pro (formally called Natural Medicines) is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
- PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new windowA reference library compiled by the American Pharmacists Association that includes exercises, case studies, as well as comprehensive drug information.
- Principles of Clinical Research and Design This link opens in a new windowPrinciples of Clinical Research and Protocol Design program consists of a series of four courses, which together provide a foundation in the essential elements of well-constructed clinical research protocols and how these elements are applied in clinical trials and observational studies.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowSTAT!Ref enables users to intuitively cross-search full-text titles, journals, and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals, meaning you have the breadth you need to be truly comprehensive in your search.
To learn more about using Web of Science visit the Web of Science Training Portal. - WebWISER This link opens in a new windowWISER is the Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders, a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents.
The WebWISER will adapt to your mobile or tablet browser. However, there is also an app available. - Yale-Merck Pharmaceutical Development Course This link opens in a new windowDrug Development and Pharmacology
