Master of Science in Palliative Care (MSPC)
Finding Full Text Articles from the Library Catalog
- If you know the name of the article you are looking for, copy the title and paste it into the search box on the library homepage and select the Library Search tab.
- On the results page, look for the correct article title then click the green "Full text available" link.
- On the following page, look for a link after "Full text available at:".
- If there are multiple links, click the first one. If that link fails to get you to the full text of the article, go back and try a different link.
- If the article you are looking for does not appear on the results page, follow the instructions below to order it through interlibrary loan.
Interlibrary Loan
If you need an article, chapter, book, dissertation, or any other published item, we will provide it to you from our own collection or through our world-wide network. As AMC students, this service is available at no added cost (it's funded by your Student Technology fees)
- Interlibrary LoanFind more information about Strauss Library's interlibrary loan service.
- ILLiad account registrationFirst time users can click this link to register for an account.
DynaMed
The first link below will take you to a list of palliative care topic summaries. Note the "Follow" icon at the top of the page. After creating a personal account, you can follow a single topic or all palliative care topics, and will receive emails when new literature has been added.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed provides clinical decision support solutions, healthcare business intelligence, medical journals, medical e-books and medical reference information. Evidence-based content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help clinicians in their daily practice.
The DynaMed database will adapt to your mobile or tablet browser. However, there is also an app available.
Instructions for accessing the DynaMed app:
1. Create a personal account by going to DynaMed (it is easiest to do this on a desktop or laptop)
2. Click on person icon in the upper right corner
3. Click "Register now" and register using your @cuanschutz.edu email
4. Sign in once to confirm your account was created successfully
5. Install the app on your mobile device: Google Play Store or iTunes Store
6. Open the app and log in with your account username/password.
UpToDate
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides current, evidence-based overviews on more than 8,300 topics in 16 medical specialties. For App instructions, see below.
UpToDate works on mobile and tablet browsers, but you can also get the UpToDate app for easier access anywhere.
How to install and access the UpToDate App:
- Go to UpToDate through the Strauss Health Sciences Library website on a desktop or laptop.
- If you're off-campus, log in with your CU Anschutz credentials.
- If you're off-campus, log in with your CU Anschutz credentials.
- Register for a personal account.
- Download the UpToDate app from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store.
- Log in to the app with the username and password you created.
- 90 Day Re-verification required:
- To keep mobile access active, UpToDate requires you to verify your CU Anschutz affiliation every 90 days:
- To keep mobile access active, UpToDate requires you to verify your CU Anschutz affiliation every 90 days:
- Use a browser to access UpToDate through the Strauss Health Sciences Library website (if you are off-campus, you’ll be prompted to login with your university credentials first), then on the UpToDate site, login to the personal account you created for yourself.
- You are now re-verified and can continue to use your UpToDate app for another 90 days.
Visit the UpToDate Mobile Support Page.
Visit UpToDate Help & Training for tutorials and tips.
- Go to UpToDate through the Strauss Health Sciences Library website on a desktop or laptop.
EvidenceAlerts
- EvidenceAlertsEvidenceAlerts is a service that notifies users about newly-published clinical studies. Researchers at the McMaster Health Information Unit find the highest quality studies, reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from 124 premier clinical journals and these articles are rated by practicing physicians for clinical relevance and interest. Alerts are curated to your own clinical interests.
After creating an account, go to your Dashboard and the "Customize Alert Settings" section to select your topics of interest. Of note, there is an "Oncology - Palliative and Supportive Care" topic.
Also on your Dashboard, go to the "PubMed Outside Tool" section and select "University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Strauss Health Sciences Library" from the list. This will allow you to access full text articles from the library's journal subscriptions.
Critical Appraisal
"Critical appraisal is the systematic evaluation of clinical research papers in order to establish: 1. Does this study address a clearly focused question? 2. Did the study use valid methods to address this question? 3. Are the valid results of this study important? 4. Are these valid, important results applicable to my patient or population?"
University of Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine. Critical appraisal tools. Accessed March 10, 2023.
The following tools can be used for critically appraising literature. Checklists are available for different clinical research study designs, such as cohort studies, randomized controlled trials, or systematic reviews.
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowJAMAevidence Critical Appraisal Worksheets (located in the Learning Tools section)
Create a "MyAccess" profile to access the worksheets. Completed worksheets can be saved, printed, or emailed.
PubMed RSS Feed - Palliative Care Articles
The most recent five articles are displayed here. To see more results, scroll to the bottom of this box and click the "Website" link.
- Last Updated: Feb 18, 2025 12:02 PM
- URL: https://library-cuanschutz.libguides.com/palliative_care
- Print Page