Skip to Main Content

Strauss Health Sciences Library

Learn on Demand

Collected tutorials, recorded classes, and handouts

Welcome to Strauss Library's Learn on Demand

Learn on Demand is a online collection of tutorials, handouts, and recordings of live classes created by the members of the Strauss Library Education & Research team. We also offer synchonous (real-time) instruction on many library- and research-related topics in face-to-face and Zoom settings. If you'd like custom instruction or training for your students, colleagues, department, lab, etc., please fill out our Instruction Request for Groups Form.

What's New?

Important Changes to Resource Links Off-Campus

We’re upgrading! The library is migrating to a cloud-based EZProxy server to improve authentication for off-campus access to our online resources. Starting Spring semester, this change will make things more secure and easier to maintain.

 

What Does This Mean for You?

  • If you’ve bookmarked direct database links or publisher links with the old EZProxy string in your web browser, Canvas courses, or syllabi, those links may no longer work off-campus, after the start of Spring semester. See tips below for updating your links. The old server will be shut down January 31, 2026.
  • How to tell if your link won’t work:
    • Any URL with the old proxy prefix, proxy.hsl.ucdenver.edu, in the URL string needs to be updated.
  • If you see the new proxy prefix, cuanschutz.idm.oclc.org, instead in the URL, you don’t need to change the link.
  • If instead you are using the A-Z Database shortcut links to databases or the catalog record links to articles or books, you won’t have to change them at all. They will reroute appropriately.

Getting new links by the first day of Spring semester is simple:

  • Visit the library website or A-Z Database List to find your new, updated database URLs.
  • Search the library catalog for to articles or ebooks, grab the updated permalinks, and replace your publisher URLs.
  • Use the Library Link Generator to add the correct EZProxy url prefix to a library subscription URL to trigger off-campus authentication and full-text access.
  • If you use EndNote’s Find Full-Text tool, update your settings with the updated links in the EndNote Guide instructions.

If you’re unsure where to find a resource or need help updating links, just reach out to library staff via AskUs! 

Thanks for your patience and support as we make this important upgrade.