LibGuides: Dental Medicine Resource Portal: Top Library Resources for Dentistry

Top Dental Resources

Below is a short list of the top resources for dental medicine. For a listing of all library databases, see the complete A-Z Databases list.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.

To learn more about using PubMed visit PubMed Tutorials .
Create an account:
Step 1: Click on "Log in" in the upper right corner of the PubMed homepage. 
Step 2: At the bottom, click "New here? Sign up."
Step 3: Again, at the bottom, click “more sign up options.”
Step 4: In the search box, type “Anschutz” and it will bring up “University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus.” This will allow you to create an account with your CU Anschutz credentials. After you graduate you can change your account to be linked to another account such as a Google or ORCID account.

To learn more about creating and customizing your NCBI account, watch this video.
CATs (Critically Appraised Topics) Oral Health Library This link opens in a new window
Student and faculty at the UTHSCSA Dental School Oral Health work together to find and report the strongest, most recent, and most relevant evidence pertaining to dental diagnosis and treatment. This online library rapidly provides users with up-to-date evidence-based answers to focused clinical questions. The CATs are updated as new research is published.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical resource from Elsevier that includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drugs, multimedia, instructional videos of medical of procedures and more. All of the information accessible via MD Consult and First Consult, plus more, is now available in ClinicalKey.

To learn more about using ClinicalKey visit the Resource Center.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Indexes conference abstracts, papers, and summaries, which can be found using the Advanced Search function and specifying the publication type.

To learn more about using Embase visit Embase Video Tutorials and/or Elsevier's Embase FAQs.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides libraries and researchers with a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Includes information on dental materials.

Limited to 5 Concurrent Users – if you are unable to access please try again later
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research. MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals).

To learn more about using Ovid databases visit Ovid Online Training.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Tools to identify medications, look up drug interactions and compatibilities, and make comparisons.
Micromedex® includes, CareNotes®, DRUGDEX®, DRUG-REAX®, IDENTIDEX®, IV INDEX®, Index Nominum, Martindale, NeoFax®, PDR®, POISINDEX®, REPRORISK®, USP DI®, DISEASEDEX®, TOMES®, Lab Advisor®, and Alternative Medicine databases.

NOTE: NeoFax® works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref enables users to intuitively cross-search full-text titles, journals, and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.

Using Interlibrary Loan

Need to find an article that Strauss Health Sciences Library doesn't have access to? You can use ILLiad to request it. If you've never used ILLiad before, watch this short video for more information.