It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Global Health Information & Resources: Getting Started
Resources for students and faculty involved or interested in global health projects. Special thanks to Ms. Gurpreet Rana, MLIS from University of Michigan Libraries for content and template ideas.
PubMedThis is a link to the new PubMed interface. PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Set up your account for off-campus access including the library's "Article Linker":
1. Log in to My NCBI and click on “NCBI Site Preferences” in the upper right hand menu.
2. Under “PubMed Preferences” click on “Outside Tool”
3. Click on the letter “U” at the top of the page
4. Scroll down and click on the circle next to “University of Colorado, Strauss Health Sciences Library”
5. Scroll to the top and click on “Save”
Global Health (CABI)Global Health is a bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research. Derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences, Global Health contains over 3 million scientific records from 1973 to the present.
Biomedical life sciences
Diagnosis and therapy of disease
Environmental and occupational health
Epidemiology and biostatistics
Infectious diseases and parasitology
Nutrition and food sciences
Public Health Emergencies
Tropical and international health
Web of ScienceThe Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets, all in all totaling over 33,000 journals, meaning you have the breadth you need to be truly comprehensive in your search.
Google ScholarSearch for articles in Google Scholar. If full-text is immediately available, look for PDF link on the right. If full-text is not immediately available, click "Full-Text at CU Anschutz" to search for article via the library catalog.
Click "more..." to learn how to set up Anschutz specific link.
Google Scholar now includes the print and online journal resources of the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus Strauss Health Sciences Library. When you run a search, look for one of the following two links associated with each hit result:
"Full-Text @CU Anschutz": This link will appear immediately after the article title when Google determines that the library provides full text of the article.
"Options @CU Anschutz ": This link will appear among other links below the citation when Google determines that the library does not have full text access. Click this link to request an item via Interlibrary Loan or to look for the item in our library catalog.
Please note: for Google Scholar to correctly display Strauss Health Sciences Library holdings, you must either:
Be on the Health Sciences campus network OR
Use the Google Scholar preferences setting to tell Google your Strauss Health Sciences affiliation.
To set up your Strauss Health Sciences affiliation:
Within the Google Scholar settings, edit the "Library links"
Search for "Colorado"
Check the box for "University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus – Full-Text at CU Anschutz" & Save
MeSH = Explode
Medical Subject Heading
The MeSH search for lung cancer is "Lung Neoplasms"[Mesh] = 227,773
It will explode to include at least 7 more narrow MeSH terms
MeSH words / vocabulary as "keyword" or "keyword phrase" with quotation marks
Remove the [Mesh] to get the MeSH as keyword "Lung Neoplasms" = 213,644
PubMed will search Keyword terms in the titles and abstracts, especially for unindexed material (no MeSH assigned yet!)
a separate database that interacts with PubMed for finding controlled subject concept terms
Exploding - automatically including narrower terms indented under a MeSH subject concept term
newest articles vs. indexed articles = keywords/synonyms vs. MeSH
ACTIVITY: "Pair" up in 2s or 3s. Each person should use the Level 1 Comprehensive Search (3 parts) Approach to create their own search strategy for one of your question concepts. After you are done ask your partner to critique your work.