The General Gene and Protein Information sections contains a hodge podge of information about markers, homology, function and naming conventions.

Gene Ontology annotations are based on varying levels of evidence. Use the GO evidence code to what evidence these predictions are based on. If you mouse over the evidence code, it will give a description of the code. Here is a list of some common ones:

Experimental Evidence:

• Inferred from Experiment (EXP)
• Inferred from Direct Assay (IDA)
• Inferred from Physical Interaction (IPI)
• Inferred from Mutant Phenotype (IMP)
• Inferred from Genetic Interaction (IGI)
• Inferred from Expression Pattern (IEP)

Computational Evidence:

• Inferred from Sequence or structural Similarity (ISS)
• Inferred from Sequence Orthology (ISO)
• Inferred from Sequence Alignment (ISA)

A comprehensive list of evidence codes can be found HERE.

The Markers subsection contains e-PCR primer sets for detecting unique sequence tagged sites (STS) in this gene. STSs are unique sites that are found nowhere else in the genome, and were used extensively to map sequences pre-NGS sequencing.

Click on the UniSTS link to see more details.

The Homology section provides links to databases that contain information about homologs of this gene. 

• Homologs of the XXX Gene: links to the HomoloGene Database
• Orthologs from Annotation Pipeline: links to a list of homologs in the Gene Database
• MapViewer: links to a visualization of the homologs in Rat and Mouse int MapViewer, which puts the information in the context of whole chromosomes. 
• OrthoDB: links to an external database that contains homology information

Clone name provides the name of the DNA clone that the sequence was derived from. 

The Gene Ontology section gives information about the gene's function. The information here is provided be the Gene Ontology Annotation Database at the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI). This section is divided into Function and Process tables. 

Each table has information on the Function (which links to the AMiGO 2 search of the Gene Ontology Database), an evidence code (see the side bar for more information) and links to primary literature in PubMed.

Function: the biochemical activity the gene is involved in 

Process: the cellular process the gene is involved in

The General Protein Information section contains preferred and alternate names for the gene products.