PhD Student Resource Guide
Bioinformationist
From Information to Insight
Biological databases contain an amazing amount of information that can be used to generate hypotheses and advance your research without even stepping in the lab. This page contains information about Databases and Analysis tools that facilitate data reuse. The analysis tools can also be used to analyze your own data.
CU Anschutz Resources
- CCTSI Informatics Seminar Series Calendar & Video Archive This link opens in a new window The CCTSI's Translational Informatics core has created this video and podcast library. Watch short videos on specific bioinformatic resources and how bioinformatics can help your career.
General Bioinformatic Resources
The most comprehensive sets of molecular data can be found in data bases that participate in the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC).
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
- European Nucleotide Archive (ENA)
- DNA Data Bank of Japan (DDBJ)
Their search interfaces differ, but these organizations synchronize their data across these 3 databases, so which one you prefer is up to you.
If you're looking for specialized databases and tools, browse the categories below or use the Online Bioinformatics Resource Collection (OBRC).
HSL primarily supports NCBI databases, but feel free to ask for help with any biological database. We are open to expanding our repertoire. Here is an introductory tutorial to NCBI.
Select databases
- Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI) This link opens in a new window MGI is the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease.